My Current Read: Vegan for Her

Vegan for her: The woman’s guide to being healthy and fit on a plant -based diet by Virginia Messina, MPH, RD with JL Fields

I had gotten to a point where I was questioning what I was eating and was it optimal for my health. I felt that it was, but was my diet lacking. That and then I found a page of Facebook, “What Fat Vegans Eat” and it reminded me that I was increasingly eating processed vegan food. I work full time and am working on my second Masters degree, so my eating habits have been lacking. There, I admitted my diet had become processed once again and I could lose a few pounds. This book has a section on “When Vegans are Overweight” p. 132. The bottom line is that a vegan diet is more compassionate, advocate centered and respectful. I think it’s more than that when whole foods are eating and it becomes better for the body to process and gain nutrients. I’m just about to chapter 10: Healthy Aging. I’m there! Aging is happening – the healthy part is my latest challenge. 

There is also a section of recipes that I am going to begin preparing, resources for vegan women, a metric conversion table (always handy if you love to purchase cookbooks when you travel for find on the internet). 

 

Leave a comment