VegFest 2012 – 1st Timer

I’ve been a Vegan for over a year and a Vegetarian for over 20 and last weekend was my first time at VegFest in Seattle. I arrived late for a number of reasons – won’t bore you with details. I really wanted to hear  and see Dr. Neal Bernard’s presentation. Actually could have stood outside and heard it all, because as I was walking past the back of the building could hear him very clearly though some vents – odd huh!!

I paid and rushed to the back of the large room as that is where he was presenting. I’ll write more later on his talk and the book I purchased.

After the lecture folks were taking down their booths, but still had time to talk to a few vendors, try a few samples and joined Vegetarians of Washington. I also purchased two books at their table: the Veg-Feasting Cookbook: favorite Recipes from Local Restaurants and Leading Chefs in the Pacific Northwest & Vegetarian Pacific Northwest: A Guide to Restaurants and Shopping. I need to get out more and discover the wonderful restaurants in the area and support Vegan restauranteurs and Chefs.

VegFest is definitely worth attending. Next time will attend earlier in the day and catch more of the lectures and cooking demonstrations.

I’ve already tried one of the recipes from the Veg-Feasting Cookbook: Lentil Pottage from Abou Karim in Oregon (p. 162)

My rendition of Lentil Pottage:

1/2 cup lentils

2+ c. low sodium vegetable broth

1/2 onion

1/8 tsp. cumin

dash of salt and pepper.

Rinse lentils then combine with  2 c. vegetable broth in a pan/pot (bring to a boil and then lower to simmer) cook for 15 minutes. Ten minutes into cooking saute onions with spices in a small amount of vegetable broth until cooked but crisp. Add to lentil mixture and continue cooking until Lentils are fully cooked – check every 5 minutes.

This recipes is very tasty, easy to prep and  quick.  I was drawn to it because it said it could be eaten hot or cold. Sometimes just don’t have time to heat!!

Leave a Reply

