Week 2: 21 Day Vegan Kickstart India

Today I cooked yellow split peas with peas and gravy – my rendition of Soy with Peas and Gravy. I made it a bit spicy – the green chilis hide behind the peas and surprise – heat!!! Very good! I also cooked up balsamic brown rice to add to my lunches this week. I still want to make the cucumber salad to add to my salad this week as well. Then with a few more Indian dished this week my menu should be pretty rounded out.

I haven’t had time to try the breads yet, but am looking forward to mastering them. I love bread and the simplicity of homemade breads. The store-bought variety have lost the essence of baking is small batches with minimal ingredients and having fresh bread, dare I say, daily. The texture and smell of fresh bread is essential to the sensuousness of food and our palates.

Must say, I am quite proud of myself for sticking with the Vegan Indian cooking – I’m enjoying the spices and dishes. I have lots to learn about cooking Indian, but feel that I have finally begun my journey. I have been cooking for over 40 years and the quote by John Pierpont Morgan, “The first step towards getting somewhere is to decide that you are not going to stay where you are.” sums up the growth that we need as cooks and bakers and complements the rest of our lives.

Leave a Reply

