Lentil Soup Recipe

Sorry, I have been super busy at work and then was out-of-town this weekend, but now am ready to get back to the soup recipe I promised.
First I was going to make Lentil Soup from NutritionMD.org, but as I started the soup I realized that I didn’t have all the ingredients.  Since I had already perused a couple of other favorite cook books, I was also intrigued with the Egyptian-Style Lentil Soup from The Mediterranean Vegan Kitchen cookbook by Donna Klein.

Here is my rendition of both recipes:

Lentil Soup

1-32 oz.carton of Organic Vegetable Broth

1 yellow onion, chopped

2 large or 4 small cloves of garlic, chopped

1 stalk of celery, slices

5 oz. of shredded carrots (1/2 pkg. of Organic Bunny-Luv shredded carrots)

1 med. potato (peeled and cut in 1/2 in chunks – approx)

1/4 c. red Lentils

1/2 C. yellow Lentils

1 tsp. cumin

couple shakes of pepper

generous pinch of red pepper flakes

3-4 sprigs of Cilantro (remove leaves from the stems and chop up a bit)

Saute onions, garlic and celery in about 1/2 cup of broth and when beginning to become translucent, add the rest of the broth, carrots, and well rinsed lentils. Cook 15 minutes and add chopped potato and cumin. Continue cooking about 20-30 minutes until lentils and potato chunks are cooked. Add the black pepper, red pepper flakes & Cilantro and stir once more to blend the soup and flavors.

Serve as is and enjoy!

Tip: I used the red and yellow lentils because the red lentils will cook away and help thicken the soup. The yellow ones stay in-tack, so the soup is more interesting and the same amount of nutrients are present.

I don’t add salt and am use to it, if you cook with salt then add the amount of salt you are accustomed to using.

Leave a Reply

